The Real Ghostbusters Guide…..an Introduction

Image

Oooo! Before you continue, just to let you know, there’s a quick short-cut to a list of my episode reviews right here!

We all have our nostalgic throwbacks, those guilty pleasures that we dig up, blow the dust off of and revisit from time to time. When I’m doing the ironing, I don’t want something on the telly that I’ve never seen before, distracting my attention and making me burn my hand. No, I want something that’s there in the background that’s like an old friend, and though there are many TV shows or films that would more than qualify as ironing fodder, for some reason The Real Ghostbusters has proved to be the definitive go-to choice these past few years.

Image

Without much hyperbole, I can safely say that I was absolutely mad for The Real Ghostbusters when I was a boy. It was my all-time favourite show, and the drudgery of school was made bearable on Mondays because I knew that it would be on ITV around 4.30. I’d tape it, re-watch it, re-watch it again and drive my family crazy with it. Earlier than that, when all we had was a Betamax that never worked when you tried to record ITV, I had to make do with watching the episode knowing that it was lost to time immediately afterwards. You know, like how people used to watch TV before videotapes were invented. I never knew how they did that. I wanted to keep the shows and films I loved, and if the tape didn’t work, I got very upset. Yes I’ll admit, I didn’t have my priorities properly adjusted as a little ‘un.

Image

When I stayed round my aunt and uncle’s on a Saturday night, I was very excited because they had a VHS player, and as such I could rent a film from my local video shop and take it round to enjoy. There were ten official Real Ghostbusters video tapes to buy or rent in the late eighties and early nineties, each with two episodes on them. These made up the first twenty adventures from the series’ syndicated season, aka Season 2. Now this is where I have to work out the whole ‘syndicated’ thing, as I’m from the UK and I don’t really get it, as we don’t do that sort of thing here. Actually, never mind; I’ll just link you to Wikipedia:

Image

Ghostbusters was of course a phenomenally successful film back in 1984, and unsurprisingly, it spawned a spin-off. Or two. Now this is where I explain the ‘Real’ part of The Real Ghostbusters. You see, there was another cartoon around the same time called Ghostbusters, which was a reworking of an unrelated 1970’s live-action series. I guess you could say that this alternate cartoon only came back to life to cash in on the success of the film, but ultimately it had nothing to do with the antics of Peter Venkman, Ray Stantz, Egon Spengler and Winston Zeddemore, so the official film spin-off had to assert itself by chucking the ‘Real’ in the title.

Image

The film and the cartoon were essentially cut from the same cloth, but the animated version definitely forged its own character. First of all, the decidedly more adult-leaning humour of the film was substantially toned down. No naughty (if mild) swearing, no rude jokes and no alcohol consumption. For those of us who giggled over ghost blow-job gags or loved to quote the immortal ‘this man has no dick’ insult, we had to make do with the cartoon being a far more family-friendly affair. One thing the film had which was surprising for a PG was the terror factor – Ghostbusters is still one of the most frightening family films ever, and even though the film’s been re-rated a ‘12’ here in the UK since, that’s for its sex references rather than the scary stuff. The show isn’t as intensely scary as the film’s more horrifying moments, but pleasingly, the show did not hold back on the ghoulishness. The Real Ghostbusters is easily the spookiest, most eerie and unsettling cartoon of its time. Many of its fans have their moment in the show that petrified them – I have more than one myself. This is what gave the show its distinct edge – the supernatural theme made it a darker proposition than any of its contemporaries, and at times it really did push the limits as to what was acceptable in a children’s cartoon. Of course though, above all else, it was huge, huge fun, and the spookiness was naturally tempered by the quintessentially Eighties, upbeat tone.

Image

So what else had changed from the movie? Personality wise, the new Ghostbusters did share the essential characteristics of their filmic counterparts – the sleazy, wisecracking Peter, the enthusiastic and child-like Ray, deadpan genius and sober Egon, and down-to-earth and friendly Winston –  but looks-wise they were quite different. No resemblances to Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis or Ernie Hudson, no way. The most immediately notable difference of course was Egon, whose look changed from the straight-laced if slightly eccentric doctorly type to a wildly bequiffed nerd-hunk. As for the voices– Peter was now voiced by Lorenzo Music, who had performed the voice of Garfield. Ray was voiced by Frank Welker who, among voicing many other characters, aliens and animals in his career, was instantly recognisable as Freddy from Scooby Doo. Egon was voiced by Maurice LaMarche, who has voiced a kabillion characters throughout the history of animation. Bizarrely, for the role of Winston, original actor Ernie Hudson had auditioned for his own character but lost out to comedian Arsenio Hall. Ouch. All four new actors suited their respective characters like a glove. Then there was Janine Melnitz, the wonderfully sassy secretary who may have had the same take-no crap attitude as Annie Potts did in the film, but looks-wise had changed to a style that Potts’ character in Pretty in Pink might have selected for one of her many wardrobe changes during that film. A shock of red hair and multi-coloured attire, not to mention those angular spectacles made Janine one of the most of-its-time elements of the show. She was splendidly voiced by Laura Summer, and when she and Music departed the show after season 2, RGB suffered a fatal double-smackdown.

Image

Oh, and of course there was Slimer. You know, the green ghost who ate everything and anything. He appeared in the film as a mischievous but relatively friendly spook (friendly compared to say, Gozer), but he remained anonymous until the cartoon blessed him with a proper name. You find out exactly how he came to live with the Ghostbusters in fan favourite episode ‘Citizen Ghost’, so I’ll spare that little story ‘til I deal with that episode proper. If the Ghostbusters’ antics sealed the deal for older kids, then it was the adorable/irritating Slimer that was guaranteed to win over the infants. Slimer’s schtick was that he would slime Peter’s clothes or steal Peter’s foot-long sandwich almost every week, which usually led to Peter wanting to zap him into oblivion. The rest of the gang’s tolerance towards Slimer was extraordinarily far-reaching – I have to say, I sided with Peter almost every time, but Slimer would usually prove his worth and resourcefulness in saving the day, even if half the time he was the one who accidentally caused the problem in the first place.

Image

Then there were the ghosts. Demons, vampires, poltergeists, trolls, boogiemen, Valkyries, dragons, goblins….even the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse make an appearance in one excellent episode. Some were funny, some were a nuisance, some were small, some were huge, some were spooky, and some were terrifying. All proved to be a formidable challenge for our ghostbusting quartet every week, but as this show didn’t stick to a long-running storyline, and each episode was self-contained, everything would always wind up back to normal by the twenty-two minute mark, even if some of the problems faced involved nothing less than THE APOCALYPSE!!! This usually meant a feeling of déjà vu every week, but when you’re a ten year old, you fail to notice the repetition.

Image

The whole of the glory days were supervised by story editor Michael J. Straczynski, who would go on to commandeer Babylon 5 and become a well-known comic book writer, and much respect should go to this man for the overall identity and impact of the show. Then there was also the music, which was partly composed by the ubiquitous Shuki Levy, whose themes and hooks for this show range from pleasingly dated to downright fantastic. Of course, being made in the 1980’s, we do get the occasional appearance from a none-more-of-its time pop group called Tahiti who do their best to disrupt the atmosphere with their tailored brand of lite-pop rock, but ultimately they added to the show’s timely charm.

Image

I will be revisiting each and every episode of The Real Ghostbusters’ glory days; that is, the first season  (13 episodes long) that screened on the ABC network, and the syndicated second season that was made up of 64 episodes. When I was younger, I thought that it was the syndicated episodes that came first and the ABC episodes afterwards. This would back-up the general consensus that ‘Knock, Knock’ was the first ever episode, though if the ABC episodes really did come first, then that would make ‘Ghosts R Us’ the first episode and ‘Knock, Knock’ the fourteenth. Ah, the confusion. I’ll be sticking with the running order showcased on the Time Life DVDs that came out a few years ago, which places the ABC episodes first.

Image

Sadly, after 79 episodes, the show went belly-up when the producers made lots of horrible changes, making the show softer, goofier and embarrassing to endure. I might review a couple of those episodes for comparison’s sake, but I might not. It’s probably best that I just concentrate on the show I loved and not the monstrosity that followed. They’re two separate things in my mind.

Anyway….. here’s Episode 1, ‘Ghosts R Us’. It’s a good ‘un.

My Real Ghostbusters episode reviews

6 thoughts on “The Real Ghostbusters Guide…..an Introduction

  1. (Warning: Long comment ahead!!) I’ve recently discovered your great blog; like yourself, I was a huge fan of RGB when it reached the UK. It inherited the Monday 4:20pm timeslot of ‘He-Man and the Masters of the Universe’, which was winding down at around that point, and took (or at least joined) MOTU as my favourite children’s TV programme.
    Oddly, RGB was one of the very few of my favourite ‘things’ that my love didn’t fully carry over into ’90s and beyond (my other various TV favourites I would religiously still record or collect, write about and research… long before the internet!). I still really liked RGB, but I think memory of some of the terrible later episodes, and becoming ‘too childish’, had soured it a little in my mind; I also recall starting to go off it a bit as it was so different to the 1984 movie in some respects. Around the start of the 2000s I came to reassess the series, taking it as ‘it’s own entity’ away from the movies again, and reminded myself just how good the series could be at times (the quality of writing could sometimes be a little ‘splashy’, but when they got it right, they got it RIGHT). I’ve had the complete DVD set for a few years, it’s been on my ‘to do’ list right the way through for a long while now (Note: I haven’t done any new telly for years and even old telly has become few and far between).

    Regarding the “first” episode, the whole ABC/syndication thing always has been very confusing. I’ve always deducted ‘Ghosts ‘R’ Us’ to be first (actually, going by production numbers, ‘Killerwatt’ was produced first) as the voice work is clearly still developing, most notably with Maurice LaMarche’s Egon, and to an extent Laura Summer’s Janine; and there are several other early influences, such as the more cartoony physics of the original promo trailer that are still slightly present in ‘Ghosts ‘R’ Us’/’Killerwatt’. However… I have read several times over the decades that it was the pitch to ‘Knock, Knock’, which sold the series. Many series when pitched to networks have very rough, sketchy short ‘mock up’ versions of an episode to give to potential buyers… I wonder if RGB has an early promo version of ‘Knock, Knock’ which hasn’t yet been unearthed? This would tally and explain a lot if it is the case.

    I’ve assembled original UK broadcast orders for many of my favourite imported TV programmes of the era (‘The A-Team’, ‘Knight Rider’, etc.), I’m still working on RGB, but interesting to note that it was ‘Slimer, Come Home’ shown as the first episode (on Monday 11th Jan 1988… I was surprised, I thought we had it by ’87). ‘Ghosts ‘R’ Us’ was actually the sixth episode shown (15th Feb).
    I believe the first episode I ever saw was ‘Killerwatt’, which was shown third. I hadn’t then seen ‘Ghostbusters’ (the movie) so wasn’t really into the franchise. I recall my schoolfriend/neighbour David was round my house playing after school and asked if we could have ‘Ghostbusters’ on the television and can remember the showdown with Killerwatt at the end. I believe I missed the following week’s episode (‘Mr. Sandman, Dream Me a Dream’) as I hadn’t yet got into the habit of watching and forgot it was on(!), but began watching regularly the following week (‘Troll Bridge’).

    To note is, regarding your mention on your blog of ‘Ghosts R Us’, this it was standard practice to edit episodes of imported TV series for timing reasons. It wasn’t censorship (or not purely, occasionally that would play it’s hand too), simply ITV deeming the episodes run a few minutes shorter. This had also affected the vast majority of ‘He-Man’ episodes in the same slot before it (the complete versions of that series were, mostly, shown when they were later repeated in a morning slot, first on Sunday mornings, later weekday mornings in the school holidays), and a much with the likes of ‘The A-Team’ or ‘Knight Rider’ etc. which would often have several minutes running time lopped out, the bain of my TV programme collecting young life and the boredom of all of my friends who were blissfully unaware what they were watching had been tampered with (what can I say, I was a nerd). It wasn’t just first season RGB episodes affected, it ran right through the series (For example, I have an original ITV broadcast recording of ‘Victor, the Happy Ghost’ from the second season, down the end of an old video cassette, and that too is hacked down by several minutes).

    So anyway, I’ll be reading through and comparing your blog with great interest, even more so as we were/are both UK viewers. Unlike the various other favourites I’ve mentioned where I can name each episiode, quote lines, have original scripts (…). with RGB there are some episodes I haven’t seen for many years; likely some of the later ones I never saw at all (probably a blessing). I’ve always considered ‘When Halloween Was Forever’ a favourite, both because it’s a classic episode and moreso because, for some reason, I recorded this episode live from broadcast onto a cassette tape (even though we had a video recorder!) to listen back to again, and know Every. Damned. Word. Of it.

    Right, that was a long ramble, I’ll hush now. Actually, no I won’t, I’ll go and leave my thoughts on ‘Ghosts ‘R’ Us’ now…

    • Hi there!

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this – some really fascinating info here! I had no idea that ‘Slimer, Come Home’ was the first episode broadcast here! That’s good (and depressing) to know about the cavalier editing techniques applied by the broadcasters, it played havoc with my memories because I was convinced that i was seeing/not seeing scenes that were previously there/not there! Love your cassette story – just hearing the soundtrack and nothing else must have really got your visual memories of the episode into overdrive! I had the opposite situation – I recorded an episode of Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles where the sound had completely failed to record and the picture was black and white and fuzzy! I still watched the episode quite a few times because it looked like such a laugh – the episode was ‘Sky Turtles’. where New York’s gravity somehow gets ‘switched off’ and everybody goes all floaty!

      Thanks again for commenting, and I’m glad you like my writing, cheers!

      Jimi

    • Just wanted to say how grateful I am to stumble across this post. I was sure I caught the first ep of RGB on CITV and it was ‘Slimer, Come Home’ so the internet showing a different broadcast order really had me doubting myself. Cheers for doing a deep dive on the UK broadcasts. I had 4 or 5 VHS tapes full of recorded eps from CITV and Motormouth.

      I replied to this earlier in the week but it was deleted – maybe comments were marked as spam or something.

      • Thank you! Not sure what happened with your earlier comment, it might have gone straight to spam, maybe! Slimer, Come Home is a great way for CITV to have kicked off the series, albeit in an inaccurate one, I suppose…

  2. “The Real Ghostbusters is easily the spookiest, most eerie and unsettling cartoon of its time.”
    What about the very short living “Inhumanoids”? I´ve only seen reviews of it but that seemed very gory for a kids cartoon.

Leave a comment